Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Francis Ledwidge International Poetry Awards

Just got the results of this competition. Winner this year is Ray Mullen, Dublin 24; second place goes to Mary Turley McGrath, Letterkenny and third to Boyne Writers Group member Evan Costigan. Well done!

Six are Highly Commended including David Mohan, a member of Lucan Creative Writers Group and Louth native Adrienne Leavy, at present studying in Phoenix, Arizona. She was a visitor at one of our meeting during the summer and has been published in Boyne Berries.

There were ten Commended entries including Orla Fay of the Boyne Writers Group and myself. Also in this group is Sinead MacDevitt from Navan who has been published in Boyne Berries a number of times. I was also commended in this competition two years ago.

The awards ceremony will take place in McDowells, Emmet Road, Inchicore, Dublin on Tuesday 8 December at 7.30pm. all welcome.

Poet, John F Deane, will read in Blanchardstown Library tomorrow night (Thursday 26 November) at 7pm. His latest collection is A Little Book of Hours.


Peter Goulding said...

Congratulations on yet another success, Michael. This is turning into a bumper year for you.
And may I share in your despondency at the recent successes of Lokomotiv Fingal...

Michael Farry said...

Thanks Peter, more good news at the Kavanagh Weekend! Pity about Rovers!