Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Francis Ledwidge Poetry Awards Results

Now in its 15th year, the FRANCIS LEDWIDGE International Poetry Awards 2013 attracted entries from Canada, U.S.A., U.K. and Ireland.

The results have just been announced and we in LitLab are delighted that Mairéad Donnellan, one of our members, has won the award. Well done Mairéad! Another member, Pat Devaney, has been commended. Mairéad's poem was recently critiqued at a LitLab meeting. I'm trying desperately to remember what I wrote about it!

The Francis Ledwidge Award: Mairead Donnellan, Bailieborough, Co. Cavan.
Poem:  Castlewellan Pillar Box

Second Place: Catherine Ann Cullen, Dublin 12.
Poem: The Shoe-Box Coffin
Third Place: Mary Guckian, Dublin 4                                        
Poem:  Corsets

Highly Commended
Neville Keery,Co, Dublin; Mary Turley Mc Grath, Co Donegal; Adrienne Leavy,  Phoenix, Arizona; Elizabeth O’Carroll, Dublin 5; Louise Scott,  Navan; Claire O Reilly, Maynooth, Kildare; Liam Ryan, Portlaoise, Co Laoise; Susan Flynn, Co Dublin; Kevin Murtagh, Celbridge, Co Kildare; Davnet Heery, Co. na Gaillimhe

Ray Mullen, Tallaght, Dublin; Patrick Conniff, Dublin 14; James Conway, Dublin 6; Anne Mc Crudden,  Co Dublin; Aine Lyons, Tallaght, Dublin 24; Patrick Devaney, Virginia Co. Cavan; Willie Joe Meally, Castlecomer, Co Kilkenny; Patrick Waters,  Dublin 16; Gearoid De Briotan,  Teach Mealog; Ian Harman, Clondalkin, Dublin 22.

The Awards Ceremony will take place at Donoghues The Glen of Aherlow, 29 Emmet Road, Inchicore, Dublin, on Tuesday, 10th  December, 2013  at 8.00 pm.  All are welcome. Enquiries to Liam at l_omeara@yahoo.co.uk

No comments: