Sunday, December 1, 2013

Magma’s 2013 Poetry Competition

The closing date for Magma’s 2013 Poetry Competitions is 12 December 2013.

Magma Judge’s Prize:
For a poem of 13 to 80 lines. All poem entries of 13 to 80 lines will be entered for the Judge’s Prize which this year will be judged by award-winning poet Philip Gross. Philip Gross is Professor of Creative Writing at the University of Glamorgan.  He won the 2009 T S Eliot Prize with The Water Table (Bloodaxe) and the 2010 Wales Book of the Year award with I Spy Pinhole Eye (Cinnamon).

First Prize £1,000; Second Prize £300; Third Prize £150

Magma Editors’ Prize
This celebrates the short poem and is open to poems of up to 12 lines. The Magma Editors’ Prize reflects the magazine’s unique rotating editorship and poems of up to 12 lines will be judged by a panel of Magma Editors comprising Julia Bird, Rob Mackenzie, Ian McEwen, Laurie Smith and Karen McCarthy Woolf. The panel will select a range of poems for ‘special mentions’ as well as choosing first and s
econd prize winners.

First prize £1,000; Second Prize £300; Plus 10 Special Mentions £15 each

As part of the prize, all 15 winners will have their poems published in our Spring Issue 2014 and be invited to read alongside Philip Gross at Magma’s prize-giving event early next year.

The Magma website has full details and online entry.

No comments: