Sunday, November 23, 2014

Francis Ledwidge Awards Results

Inchicore Ledwidge Society
The Francis Ledwidge International Poetry Competition results have been announced. This is an annual competition organized by the Inchicore Ledwidge Society.

I was delighted to have my poem, Tidying after Visitors, highly commended. Last year's winner was Mairéad Donnellan of LitLab and this year three LitLabbers made the lists, Pat Devaney, Andy Jones and myself. A good show as well by Doghouse poets.

Winner: Ann Moriarty, Co Limerick. Poem:  Preparation.
Second Place: Orla Martin, Dublin. Poem: The Poets.
Third Place: Liam Ryan, Co Laois. Poem: Orpheus.

Highly Commended:
Kevin Lynch. Dublin. Catherine Ann Cullen, Dublin. Christine Broe, Dublin. Eamonn Lynsky, Co Dublin. Denise Ryan, Dublin. Mari Maxwell, Co Galway. Karen O’Connor, Co Kerry. Michael Farry, Co Meath. Dawn Sullivan, Co Kerry. Ray Mullen,  Dublin.

Gerry O’Donnell, Dublin. James Conway, Dublin. Aine Lyons, Dublin. Patrick Devaney, Co Cavan. Mary Melvin Geoghegan, Westmeath. Mary Jo Gibbons, Co. Meath. Patrick Waters, Dublin. Andy Jones, Co Cavan. Gearoid O’Brien, Co Westmeath. Margaret Zheng, Dublin.

The Awards Ceremony will take place at Donoghues, The Glen of Aherlow, 29 Emmet Road, Inchicore, Dublin, on Thursday 27 November 2014 at 8.00pm.  All are welcome.

No comments: