Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Francis Ledwidge International Poetry Awards

Commended again in this competition. Good company, Evan Costigan of Boyne Writers and Tommy Murray of Meath Writers Circle as well. Meath/Cavan LitLab are very well represented with two Highly Commended, Andy Jones and Pat Devaney, and Honor Duff and myself commended. Honor, that's us put in our place in the group!

Hope the cold snap is over by next Monday for the presentation, always an enjoyable friendly occasion.

Now in its 12th Year the Francis Ledwidge International Poetry Awards this year had entries from Peru, USA, Canada, UK and Ireland.

Results 2010:
The Francis Ledwidge Award: Rachel Hegarty, Dublin 5. Poem: Lament for Colm Owens.

Second Place: Gregory Castle, Arizona, USA. Poem: Untitled Landscape.

Third Place: Orla Martin, Dublin 8. Poem: Europa.

Highly Commended
Betty Cleary, Dublin 16; Anthony Keating, Lancashire. UK; Gillian Somerville-Large, Co. Carlow. James Conway, Dublin 6; Patrick Devaney, Co. Cavan; Maureen Gallagher, Galway; Ray Mullen, 22, Tallaght, Dublin; Patricia O’Callaghan, Dublin 16; Betty Keogh, Dublin 12; Andrew Jones, Co Cavan

Mary Melvin Geoghegan, Longford; Michael Farry, Co. Meath; Gavan Duffy, Dublin 24; Eithne Cavanagh, Co Dublin; Tommy Murray, Co Meath; Michael Casey, Co Dublin; Evan Costigan, Dublin 8; Honor Duff,Co Cavan; Angela T. Carr, Dublin; Aine Lyons, Dublin 24.

Awards Ceremony will take place at ‘Donoghues’ The Glen of Aherlow, 29 Emmet Road, Inchicore, Dublin, on Monday, 6th December, 2010 at 7. 30 pm.

1 comment:

Connie Roberts said...

Congratulations, Michael!